Golden Prairie Oats
Golden Prairie Oats Frequently Asked Questions Contact Us: info@goldenprairieoats.com

Questions

Are oats gluten-free?

Yes, the most recent research shows that oats are truly a gluten-free grain. It has been the cross-contamination with gluten grains during the growing and processing that has created questions for gluten-intolerant diets.

field of green oats   Golden Prairie Oats

How do I know Golden Prairie Oats are gluten-free?

We at Golden Prairie Oats have been told by our celiac customers that 5ppm is a safe level. We have made the decision to go with the lower limit of 5ppm or less because we want to provide the cleanest, safest gluten-free oats in the market. Golden Prairie Oats feels the best way to assure that products are gluten-free is the use of a private, unbiased and professional third-party testing agent, Neogen.

Gluten-Free Oats

Does the FDA limit of 20ppm guarantee that a product is gluten-free?

At Golden Prairie Oats we feel that the safest reading is NDA, which means no detectable amount which converts to 2.5ppm or less. If a product is truly gluten-free there should not be a detectable amount of gluten in the product. For this reason we have chosen to use Neogen rather than some other certifiers that accept 5ppm.

Our farm

What type of oats do you sell?

We specialize in organic gluten-free regular rolled oats and oat groats. Golden Prairie also provides natural gluten-free regular rolled oats through our distributor UNFI. Our distributor has 15 warehouses located throughout the US.

What are oat groats?

Oat groats are whole, minimally processed oats. Because they have not been extensively processed, they retain a high nutritional value, and they can be used in a variety of ways. However, they also take a long time to prepare and cook, requiring hours of soaking and cooking before they are usable. When oat groats are produced, the oats are first hulled, removing the inedible outer husk. What remains is a whole grain, containing the fiber-rich bran, nutritious germ, and the bulk of the grain, the endosperm.

What is oat flour?

Oat flour is made from ground oats. This flour can be used in a wide variety of recipes, but it does not behave like wheat flour, since it contains no gluten and is safe for celiac diets. It brings a creamy taste and unique health benefits to any recipe. Rich in soluble fiber, this flour makes for noticeably moist breads, scones, and muffins.

• When substituting oat flour in a recipe, add a touch more water because oats soak up a lot of water.
• Never make flour out of Instant Oats. They are precooked, so cooking them again will turn them into mush. Always use standard oats.*

*Here is the recipe professional bakers use to create a gluten effect in gluten-free flour:
2 cups oat flour
1/3 cup tapioca flour
2/3 cups potato starch
1 to 2 tsp. of xanthan gum

How can I use Golden Prairie Oats?

Golden Prairie Oats are Ideal for granola, gluten-free health bars, cookies, a warm breakfast, or any recipe that calls for gluten-free oats. Our organic gluten-free flour may be used in any recipe that requires a nutritious gluten-free flour.

 

Oat cereal

 

I’ve heard of many types of oats, what are the differences?

  • Regular rolled - steamed then flattened

  • Quick - rolled oats chopped coarsely

  • Oat groats - whole minimally processed oats

  • Steel-cut or Irish oatmeal - whole oats chopped into large pieces (increased cooking time)

Bryce in a green oats field

 

Green oats in field

Who certifies your oats?

  • Certified organic by USDA

  • Gluten-free by Neogen

  • Kosher certified by Minnesota Kosher

  • HACCP certified.

 

USDA certified organic Neogen certified Gluten-Free certified Kosher Gluten-Free Oats

 

Are your oats GMO free?

Yes, both the organic and natural certified gluten free oats are GMO FREE. All organic grains are required to be GMO free by the NOP, but our natural oats are also GMO free. GMO is the abbreviation for the term genetically modified organism which is an organism whose genetic material has been altered using genetic engineering techniques. GMOs are the constituents of genetically modified foods.

All our oats are GMO free